A | B | C | D | E | F | G | H | I | J | K | L | M | N | O | P | Q | R | S | T | U | V | W | X | Y | Z
There are several different types of abuse of older persons and persons with disabilities including:
  • Physical abuse - non-accidental use of force that results in bodily injury, pain, or impairment. This includes, but is not limited to, being slapped, burned, cut, bruised or improperly physically restrained.
  • Abandonment - the desertion or willful forsaking of an elderly person or person with a disability or the withdrawal or neglect of duties and obligations owed a dependent adult by a caretaker or other person.
  • Neglect - the failure (whether intentional, careless or due to inadequate experience, training or skill) to provide basic care or services when agreed to by legal, contractual or otherwise assumed responsibility.
  • Self-neglect - one’s inability to understand the consequences of his/her actions or inaction that leads or may lead to harm or endangerment to him/herself or another person.
  • Sexual abuse - sexual contact with a non-consenting adult or with an adult considered incapable of consenting to a sexual act.
  • Financial exploitation - financial abuse is the theft or misuse of an adults money or personal property by a care giver or person in a position of trust with an adult.
  • Psychological abuse - this is the willful infliction of mental suffering on an adult by a person in a position of trust. Psychological or emotional abuse includes verbal assaults, threats, instilling fear, humiliation, intimidation, or isolation of the individual.
Activities of Daily Living (ADL)
Activities of Daily Living are activities performed during the course of a normal day in an individual’s life. They include eating, dressing, bathing, personal hygiene, mobility, bowel, and bladder control.

Administration on Aging (AoA)
The federal administration unit for aging programs authorized under the Older Americans Act within the U.S. Department of Health and Human Services.

Adult Foster Home (AFH)
Adult Foster Homes are private residences licensed to provide care to 5 or fewer residents. They offer room, board, and personal care in a home-like setting 24 hours a day. Planned activities, transportation, and medication management are available. A wide variety of residents are served in adult foster homes, ranging from those needing only room, board, and minimal personal assistance to those residents needing full personal care and skilled nursing tasks.

Adult Protective Services (APS)
Adult Protective Services provide abuse investigation, intervention, and protective services to persons who are elderly or have a disability and are in danger due to their inability to care for themselves. The abuse may involve neglect, physical violence, verbal assault, financial exploitation, sexual exploitation, harassment, violation of a person’s rights, or abandonment.

Aging & Disability Resource Center (ADRC)
ADRC is a resource for Oregon families, caregivers and consumers seeking information about long-term supports and services. The goal of this program is to effectively assist consumers with identifying and accessing a range of home and community based resources that maintain individual independence.

Americans with Disabilities Act (ADA)
Legislation passed by U.S. Congress in 1990 to prohibit discrimination against people with disabilities and to guarantee them equal access to employment, public services, public accommodations, and telecommunications.

Area Agency on Aging (AAA)
Nationwide, some 660 Area Agencies on Aging (AAA) receive funds from their respective state Agencies on Aging to plan, develop, coordinate, and arrange for services in each Planning and Service Areas (PSA). Oregon has 18 AAAs that allocate program funds, plan, develop, and coordinate systems of supportive in-home and community-based services. Most states divide their PSAs so that programs can be effectively developed and targeted to meet the unique needs of the elderly residing in their area. In rural areas such as Lane County, Senior & Disabled Services (an AAA) serves the needs of elderly people living throughout the county. They also serve persons with disabilities.

A claim of a fact by a party in a abuse report , which the party claims to be able to prove. Allegations remain assertions without proof, until they can be proved. An alleged abuser is someone who has been accused of abuse but against whom no charges have been proved. An alleged incident is an event that is said to have taken place but has not yet been verified.

Area Plan
The written document prepared by an AAA. It contains detailed statements of proposed AAA and disability goals, objectives and strategies covering a 4-year planning period. It is required by Oregon Seniors and People with Disabilities under the OAA. Also know as the 4-year plan.

Assisted Living Facility (ALF)

Assisted Living Facilities provide a person with room and board in private apartment settings along with 24 hour supervision. They also offer organized activities, intermittent nursing services, medication management, assistance with dressing and personal hygiene, and behavior management (confusion, wandering). A licensed nurse is available for facility clients. In 2011, there were 15 ALFs in Lane County.

(Back to top)